The Evidence
Resources
Clinician AssessmentGet Your Risk Score FAQs Admin ToolkitMembers Economic Impact Research ArticlesMembers SIRP 2025 WebinarMembers Videos
Guidelines
What is ALARA+? US Guidelines International Guidelines News Is Not Here About Contact Donate
Join Free

Please double-check this information. This is an ORSIF research summary, researched November 3, 2026. It is not comprehensive and not always accurate: rules change, and answers may be incomplete, out of date or wrong. It is education, not legal advice. Not yet reviewed by a regulatory expert. Confirm each requirement at the source linked beside the answer, with the state program and with your facility's radiation safety officer. How this was made

In brief

ORSIF's research identified the Maine CDC Radiation Control Program, Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) as the agency that regulates X-ray and fluoroscopy equipment in Maine. Maine is a U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Agreement State: it has signed an agreement with the NRC to regulate certain radioactive materials itself.

Maine (an Agreement State) regulates X-ray through the Maine CDC Radiation Control Program under 10-144 CMR ch. 220. The occupational ALARA duty is in the shared Part D, not the X-ray-specific Part F, which mentions ALARA only in its quality assurance (QA) appendix. Dose limits follow the NRC model: 50 mSv whole body, 150 mSv lens (the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP)'s lower limit has not been adopted), 500 mSv skin and extremities, and 5 mSv to the embryo/fetus. Fluoroscopy staff must be protected by aprons or whole-body barriers of at least 0.25 mm Pb, and aprons are tested semi-annually. The rules are silent on engineered apron alternatives, thyroid shields and eyewear. Physicians and supervised licensed radiographers may perform fluoroscopy, and credentialed CV technologists may do limited tasks; limited radiographers may not.

The rules, question by question

Every answer names the rule it comes from. Open "Rule text and source" to read the citation, the source page and, where it could be matched, the exact wording.

Where the rules live

Which rules apply, and whether ALARA is among them.

Is Maine an NRC Agreement State?

Yes

Yes. Maine is not among the non-Agreement States on the NRC list, and the NRC's July 10, 2025 periodic meeting summary on the Maine Agreement State Program is consistent with this.

Rule text and source
Rule
NRC list of Agreement States, updated October 29, 2026; NRC Region I periodic meeting summary
Source
nrc.gov
nrc.gov
What it says
The purpose of this meeting was to review and discuss the status of the Maine Agreement State Program.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Which rules cover X-ray and fluoroscopy equipment in Maine?

Yes

All rules are in 10-144 CMR ch. 220 (Radiation Protection Rule). Part D (Standards for Protection Against Radiation, October 23, 2022) covers licensees and registrants. Part F (X-Rays in the Healing Arts, October 23, 2022) covers medical X-ray, with §F.6 specific to fluoroscopy. Part A holds the definitions. The chapter was last amended October 23, 2022 (filing 2022-210).

Rule text and source
Rule
10-144 CMR ch. 220, Part D §1001; Part F (Scope)
Source
maine.gov
What it says
Part D establishes standards for protection against ionizing radiation resulting from activities conducted pursuant to licenses or registrations issued by the Agency.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Does Maine require X-ray users to keep doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA)?

Yes

Yes. Part D requires every licensee or registrant (which includes X-ray machine users) to use procedures and engineering controls to keep occupational doses ALARA. Part F §F.3.A(1)(j) also makes X-ray personnel subject to D.1201, D.2104 and D.1502.

Where ALARA lives in Maine: Only in a rule shared with radioactive materials. The binding occupational ALARA duty is in Part D §1101.B, the Standards for Protection Against Radiation part shared by radioactive-materials licensees and X-ray registrants. Part F mentions ALARA only in Appendix G, as the stated basis for the QA program, and has a general duty to minimize personnel exposure (§F.3.A(1)(i)); neither is a separate occupational-dose ALARA requirement. This research's own reading, not stated in the rules, is that an NRC-driven change to Part D would affect the X-ray ALARA duty unless the State carves it out. (Part D §1101.B; Part F §F.3.A(1)(i) and Appendix G §I.C; 22 M.R.S. §674(4)(B)-(C))

Rule text and source
Rule
10-144 CMR ch. 220, Part D §1101.B; Part A (definition of ALARA)
Source
maine.gov
What it says
The licensee or registrant shall use, to the extent practical, procedures and engineering controls based upon sound radiation protection principles to achieve occupational doses and public doses that are as low as is reasonably achievable (ALARA).
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Dose limits

The annual limits for workers, written in millisieverts (mSv). Ten mSv equal one rem.

What is the annual whole-body dose limit in Maine?

Yes

TEDE of 0.05 Sv (5 rem) = 50 mSv/yr, or 0.5 Sv to any organ other than the lens, whichever is more limiting. Minors are limited to 10% of the adult limits.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part D §§1201.A, 1207, 1208
Source
maine.gov

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

What is the annual eye-lens dose limit in Maine?

Yes

0.15 Sv (15 rem) = 150 mSv/yr. Maine has not adopted a lower lens limit such as the ICRP's 20 mSv.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part D §§1201.A, 1207, 1208
Source
maine.gov
What it says
(a) A lens dose equivalent of 0.15 Sv (15 rem), and (b) A shallow dose equivalent of 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to the skin of the whole body or to the skin of any extremity.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

What is the annual limit for the skin, hands and feet in Maine?

Yes

0.5 Sv (50 rem) = 500 mSv/yr shallow dose equivalent to the skin or any extremity.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part D §§1201.A, 1207, 1208
Source
maine.gov
What it says
(a) A lens dose equivalent of 0.15 Sv (15 rem), and (b) A shallow dose equivalent of 0.5 Sv (50 rem) to the skin of the whole body or to the skin of any extremity.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

What limit applies to a declared pregnant worker in Maine?

Yes

5 mSv (0.5 rem) to the embryo/fetus of a declared pregnant woman over the whole pregnancy. D.1208.D states the allowance remaining after declaration as "5mSv (0.05 rem)"; the units do not match, which looks like a typo in the Maine text.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part D §1208
Source
maine.gov

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Dosimeters

When a worker must wear a dosimeter, and where.

When must a worker in Maine wear a dosimeter?

Yes

Individual dosimeters must be supplied and used for: adults likely to exceed 10% of the D.1201.A limits in a year; minors likely to exceed 1 mSv deep dose, 1.5 mSv lens dose, or 5 mSv skin/extremity dose; declared pregnant women likely to exceed 1 mSv (0.1 rem) during the pregnancy; and anyone entering a high or very high radiation area. Part F §F.3.A(1)(j) applies this to X-ray personnel.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part D §1502.A(1)-(4); Part F §F.3.A(1)(j)
Source
maine.gov
What it says
Adults likely to receive, in one year from sources external to the body, a dose in excess of 10 percent of the limits in D.1201.A
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Where must the dosimeter be worn in Maine when a protective apron is worn?

In part

When an apron is worn, at least one dosimeter must be worn at the collar, outside the apron. If more than one device is used, each dose must be identified with where it was worn, and the whole-body dose is based on the maximum dose attributed to the most critical organ. No formal two-badge method and no named effective-dose method (NCRP 122, Webster) is specified. Part D §1201.C allows effective dose equivalent only by a dosimetry method approved by the NRC.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part F §F.3.A(1)(j)(i)-(iii); Part D §1201.C
Source
maine.gov
What it says
When an apron is worn, the monitoring device shall be worn at the collar outside of the apron.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Aprons and alternatives

Protective apparel, how it is checked, and whether other systems are addressed.

Must staff in Maine fluoroscopy rooms wear protective aprons or other apparel?

In part

Staff must be protected from scatter by protective aprons or whole-body protective barriers of at least 0.25 mm lead equivalent, and anyone who could be struck by the useful beam needs at least 0.5 mm. Facilities must keep enough leaded aprons and gloves. For fluoroscopy, under-table scatter must be attenuated by at least 0.25 mm Pb. For above-table scatter, staff must stand at least 120 cm from the beam center, or the scatter must pass through at least 0.25 mm Pb (drapes, Bucky-slot cover, curtains) in addition to the apron. Thyroid shields and protective eyewear are not addressed.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part F §F.3.A(1)(e)(i)-(ii), §F.3.A(1)(h)(vi), §F.6.I(1)-(2)
Source
maine.gov
What it says
The x-ray operator, other staff, ancillary personnel and other persons required for the medical procedure shall be protected from the direct scatter radiation by protective aprons or whole body protective barriers of not less than 0.25 millimeter lead equivalent.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Does Maine require protective aprons to be inspected?

Yes

Yes, semi-annually. Under the Appendix G QA program, aprons, gloves and drapes are tested semi-annually. The method is not specified, and facilities may change tests or frequencies if they show image quality will still be assured.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part F §F.5.I(1); Appendix G §IV.A
Source
maine.gov
What it says
Each facility shall conduct the following tests, at the frequency specified, and maintain records of the data.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Do the rules in Maine address engineered protection systems used in place of aprons?

Not found

Not specifically addressed; engineered apron-replacement systems are not mentioned. §F.3.A(1)(e)(ii) allows whole-body protective barriers as an alternative to aprons. §F.6.I(3) allows Agency exceptions where a sterile field prevents normal barriers. §F.3.D(4) allows exemptions with a qualified expert's written justification. No Maine bill or rule on this topic was found.

Rule text and source
Rule
Part F §§F.3.A(1)(e)(ii), F.3.D(4), F.6.I(3)
Source
maine.gov
What it says
Exemptions to the requirements of Part F may be granted, provided written justification is submitted by a qualified expert.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

About ALARA+

Who operates the equipment

Who may use fluoroscopy equipment and what training the rules ask for.

Who may operate fluoroscopy equipment in Maine?

Yes

Physicians and other licensed practitioners may operate fluoroscopy, as may licensed radiographers under a licensed practitioner's supervision. Credentialed cardiovascular technologists may do certain table-side fluoroscopy tasks under a physician's direct supervision in cath and EP labs. Residents and students are exempt while supervised. Limited radiographers and limited-license trainees may not perform fluoroscopy. Whether PAs and NPs may operate is unclear.

Rule text and source
Rule
32 M.R.S. §§9852(5), (10); 9854(2), (3)(C), (3)(E); Board rules 02-465 CMR ch. 8 §§2, 5 and ch. 6; 10-144 CMR ch. 220 §F.3.A(1)(b), §F.6.B
Source
legislature.maine.gov
What it says
Limited radiographers may not perform cardiovascular-interventional radiography, cardiac-interventional radiography, vascular interventional radiography, mammography, computed tomography, bone densitometry, fluoroscopy or administration of radiographic contrast.
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

What training or credentials does Maine require to operate fluoroscopy equipment?

In partLess certain

There is no separate fluoroscopy permit and no fluoroscopy-specific training hours were found. Radiographers need a board-approved course and exam, or American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) certification and current registration, plus continuing education at each two-year renewal (current ARRT registration in continuing education (CE) compliance or 24 CE hours, among other options). Cardiovascular technologists must hold the credentials named in the statute. For physicians, Part F requires only that operators be adequately instructed and competent.

Rule text and source
Rule
32 M.R.S. §9855(1)(C); 02-465 CMR ch. 9 §3(4); 10-144 CMR ch. 220 §F.3.A(1)(b)
Source
legislature.maine.gov
What it says
Either have successfully completed a course of study in radiologic technology and an examination that is approved by the board or possess valid certification and current registration from the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
This quote was matched word for word to the source page.

Why this matters, in ORSIF's FAQs

Changes on the way, and recent ones

Rules, bills and guidance the research found from 2025 and 2026, with the ones that touch fluoroscopy teams first.

  • BillPL 2025 c. 314 (LD 649)

    Enacted (2025)

    Created a chiropractic radiographer exemption and amended the cardiovascular technologist exemption in 32 M.R.S. §9854(3).

    Source: legislature.maine.gov

3 other items the research logged (radiation therapy, industrial machines, fees and other subjects)
  • Proposed ruleNRC compatibility packages (RATS IDs 2022-1, 2022-2, 2023-1, and others)

    Draft; scheduled to be adopted in early 2026; adoption not confirmed

    Overdue or NRC-commented compatibility packages are in draft form and in the State's process. The Secretary of State still lists Parts D and F at October 23, 2022.

    Source: nrc.gov

  • BillPL 2025 c. 738

    Enacted; effective January 1, 2027

    Updates "physician associates" wording in 32 M.R.S. §9855(4).

    Source: legislature.maine.gov

  • BillPL 2025 c. 83

    Enacted (2025)

    Amended the dental exemption.

    Source: legislature.maine.gov

Also worth knowing

  • Part D's ALARA duty and dose limits apply to X-ray registrants through a materials-compatible rule, while the statute holds machine programs to "consistency" with federal programs rather than "compatibility" (22 M.R.S. §674(4)(C)).
  • Part D §1201.C ties approval of effective-dose methods to the NRC, not to the state.
  • Fluoroscopy entrance exposure rate is capped at 10 R/min (20 R/min high-level control for equipment made on or after May 1995), with an audible signal; the rate is measured annually and posted.
  • Fluoroscopy requires a 5-minute cumulative timer, recorded on-time, and minimum source-to-skin distances.
  • Hospital X-ray machines must be inspected yearly by a qualified expert.
  • NRC reported the program has a manager and two technical staff (about 2.5 FTE).
  • D.1208.D's "5mSv (0.05 rem)" appears to be a unit typo.

What ORSIF could not confirm

Questions the research could not settle. If you know the answer, tell us.

  • Were Chapter 220 compatibility packages proposed or adopted in 2026, and will Maine follow the NRC's ALARA/"graded approach" change in Part D?
  • Does the Program accept National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) 122, Webster or two-badge effective dose methods, given §1201.C's reference to methods "approved by the NRC"?
  • May PAs (physician associates) or NPs operate fluoroscopy without a radiographer license?
  • What is the current amendment status of Board rules ch. 8 and ch. 9? The combined file shows 2009 filings.
  • Are there physician fluoroscopy training requirements in hospital credentialing or Board of Licensure in Medicine rules?
  • Would a "whole body protective barrier" under §F.3.A(1)(e)(ii) or a §F.3.D(4) exemption cover an engineered apron-replacement system?

Double-check before you rely on this page

ORSIF compiled this page from the sources linked on it and did its best. It is not comprehensive and it is not always accurate. Rules change, a rule may have been missed or misread, and the sources themselves can be out of date. Treat this page as a starting point.

Where to check

What may be missing here

  • 1 of 14 answers on this page are "Not found" or "Unclear". That means ORSIF did not find the answer in the rules it reviewed, not that no rule exists.
  • 1 answers carry a flag or a lower confidence ("Check the source" or "Less certain").
  • Researched November 3, 2026. Rules may have changed since.
  • Only the state's rules for X-ray and fluoroscopy equipment were reviewed.

Found something wrong or missing? Tell ORSIF.

Sources and terms

Terms used on this page
ALARA
As low as reasonably achievable: keep radiation doses as low as is reasonable, below the legal limits.
Agreement State
A state that has signed an agreement with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission to regulate certain radioactive materials itself.
mSv
Millisievert, a unit of radiation dose. Ten mSv equal one rem, the older unit some rules still use.
Dosimeter
A badge or device worn to measure a worker's radiation dose.
Lead equivalent
The thickness of lead (mm Pb) that would give the same protection as the material described.
NRC
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
ICRP
International Commission on Radiological Protection
NCRP
National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements
TEDE
Total effective dose equivalent
ARRT
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
CE
Continuing education
QA
Quality assurance
All 14 sources the research read

Found something out of date or wrong? Tell ORSIF. Corrections are checked against the rule text and the page is updated.